« Back to Glossary Index

The metatarsus or metatarsal bones are of five long bones in the foot located between the tarsal bones and the phalanges of the toes. The metatarsal bones are numbered from the medial side (side of big toe): the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth metatarsal.

The metatarsals are analogous to the metacarpal bones of the hand.

Like metacarpals, they are dorsally convex long bones consisting of a shaft or body, a base, and a head.

The base of each metatarsal bone articulates with one or more of the tarsal bones at the tarsometatarsal joints [Lisfranc Joint]. Their bases also articulates with each others at the intermetatarsal joints.

The head articulates with one of the first proximal  phalanx at the metatarsophalangeal joints.

« Back to Glossary Index

Leave a Reply